Bookmarks Awards 2012 announces its largest judging panel


The pressure is on for the Bookmarks 2012 judges to name SA’s digital award winners of the year, rewarding the very best of media and content living in creative harmony. This year the Bookmarks committee were inundated with nominations of an impressively high caliber to serve on the judging panel. Breaking all previous counts, we have 39 judges in total for Bookmarks 2012!  These industry experts in their selected fields will ensure we meet our focus of ensuring each category is judged according to its merit as they look at measurable performance versus set objectives.  There will be no shortage of opinions on what ‘influence’ actually means in the digital industry.


For the 3rd year Jack Kruger,  Digital Lead at Sanlam group takes the reigns as Bookmarks  Jury President, ensuring the whole process runs smoothly and fairly.  Jack will be supported by three Jury Chairs, he says, “As a further step to ensuring the quality and fairness of the Bookmarks judging process, we have elected to appoint three jury chairs – each responsible for the judging of respective areas of specialisation within the competition.”


The selected Local jury chairs are:



International judges:


Says Nikki Cockcroft, Bookmarks Chair, “The selection of our international judges is always a key focus and this year the Bookmarks committee decided to invite one of the first judges at the inaugural Bookmarks Awards in 2008 back to reassess the digital market.  Dick Buschman from the award winning agency Achtung! in Amsterdam charmed and inspired all with his enthusiastic presentation on the industry and is sure to not disappoint this time around.  We all look forward to hearing what he has to say about the caliber of entries and work from SA compared to that of 5 years ago.”

Sean O’Hara,  BBC Advertising Sales head has been elected as international publisher judge.  “BBC.COM was one of the key event sponsors in 2008, supporting our vision to start a local award for the digital industry and we are excited to have one of their key staff members on board.  We look forward to Sean’s input on the judging panel and to hearing his views on the local industry.” Says Cockcroft.


The Local Judging panel:


Abey Mokgwatsane (Ogilvy Interactive), Alastair Otter (INL), Anne van Rensberg (Jupiter Drawing Room), Antonio Petra (NATIVE), Ariel Sumeruk (Conversion Science), Brian Carter (Liquorice), Dallas du Toit (Gloo), Dave Duarte (Treeshake), Elan Lohmann (Sleek Geek), Emma Carpenter (Quirk), Fred Roed (World Wide Creative), Gary Willmott (Urbian), Geoff Cohen (, George Reed (Prezence SA), Gisele Wertheim Aymes (Longevity Magazine), Graham Warsop (Jupiter Drawing Room), Jacqui Maroun (NATIVE), John Cooney (Red&Yellow), Julie Humphrey (Aqua Online), Leizl-Mari van Rensburg (60LayersofCake), Liam Gibbs (Quirk), Marco Russolillo (Trigger/Isobar), Markus Grannenfelt (AE Media), Matt Riley (140BBDO), MikeStopforth (Cerebra), Nick Dawes (Mail & Guardian), Phillip de Wet (Mail& Guardian), Reuben Goldberg (The Times), Simon Spreckley (Hello Computer), Styli Charalambous (The Daily Maverick), Sue Disler (New Media Publishing),Toby Shapshak (Maven Media & Stuff Magazine), Tommy le Roux (Ogilvy Interactive), Yoav Tchelet (JWT).


The Bookmarks Awards are very pleased to have their judging panel selected and appreciate their contribution towards making the Bookmarks Awards a night of digital wonder. Across the board: from brand awareness to building communities, from changing behavior to increasing engagement, our judges will have the final say.


From the committee, “A huge thanks to the local legends of the industry giving up their time to raise the caliber of the judging panel for 2012”.

Does your digital work have what it takes to catch the eye of the Bookmarks Awards judges?


It’s not too late to enter. Entries are open to all and EXTENDED to 18th September 2012.

website: (all judges’ details can be viewed on the Bookmarks website)

Find us on Facebook here:

Follow us on Twitter: (@TheBookmarks)

Official Hashtag of the Bookmarks Awards 2012: #Bookmarks2012


, , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply